Ralph McQuarrie Tribute Art

Ralph McQuarrie passed away last month and this seems like a chance to share a little. I will save you from the long story, but while in college I had a job where Ralph and I sat in his studio and talked for hours. We talked artists, his time working with George Lucas, and his time at war.  Although to look at my career, you would think I was paying most attention to his art experiences, but it was stories of the Korean War that had the most impact on me. They were sad stories that put life in perspective. Since then I’ve wondered if his painting of the Rebels on Hoth were reflective of those times. They aren’t celebrating in the glory of fighting. They are tired and battle worn and have the depth of a personal story. Ralph’s assistance and inspiration over these years is appreciated and he will be missed, but remembered.

2 thoughts on “Ralph McQuarrie Tribute Art

Leave a Reply

